A Few Of My Favorite Things pt. 2: Films

Look, Ma! I’m actually attempting to keep up with a series I’m starting!

Today I figured I’d do a nice transition from music into movies. Shall we begin?

Last movie I watched: Technically, it was The Rocky Horror Picture Show since one of our campus theater groups did a version where they acted it out while the actual movie was projected behind them (it was a phenomenal performance).  But the last movie I actually sat down and watched was part of Inglorious Basterds.  We didn’t finish it (it’s on my to-do list), but what we saw was very good.

What I desperately want to watch: This list is embarrassingly long. But my top two three four right now are Star Trek: Into Darkness, The Fifth Estate, Iron Man 3 and Thor: The Dark World.  I am a huge sci-fi geek (hence STID), and I just thought TFE looked really good.  As for IM3 and Thor, I absolutely LOVE comic book movies, and these are the first Marvel movies that I haven’t seen in theaters.

What I can’t wait to see once it comes out: Sticking with my love of comic books, Captain America: The Winter Soldier is near the top of the list.  As is the 50th anniversary special of Doctor Who, The Day of the Doctorwhich I am deeming as a movie just because it’s over an hour and will be shown in theaters.

All-Time Favorite Movie. Ever. Ever. EVER.: Without a doubt, my favorite movie that I bought specifically to bring with me to college, is Monty Python and the Holy Grail.  Why? BECAUSE IT’S MONTY PYTHON! Who doesn’t love British humor? Plus, you can quote it in so many situations!  Person ticks you off? “Your mother was a hamster and your father smells like elderberries!”  Disgusting bug in the bathroom? “Fetch the holy hand grenade!!” You get hurt doing something? “It’s only a flesh wound!”  AND PEOPLE WILL UNDERSTAND THE REFERENCES!

So, does anyone out there in internet-land have any other movie suggestions?

Leave a Reply

