Nerves of Anything But Steel

Remember how I talked about those surveys I was sending out for my Sherlock Holmes project? Well, they’re in the mail now.  I know I really shouldn’t be, but I’m nervous about them.  I love how they turned out, and I’m proud to say that I did this, but that doesn’t help.  I think it’s the fact that I can’t personally go and hand everyone a copy and say “hi I’m a student working on this project, and I would love it if you could fill this out for me” and then see if they’re interested.

Well, I could do that, but I’d go broke from the plane tickets, hotels, bail payments for alleged stalking, etc.

I think the part that bothers me the most is that everything’s out of my control.

I’m not a control freak or anything, but I like to know what’s going on.

I can’t even guarantee that over half of the people I sent surveys to will be able to send back the surveys, since apparently Americans can’t pre-pay for postage for something to be sent back from London (I included self-addressed envelopes with everything and, at least for the USA-bound ones, I pre-paid for return postage)! Gotta love living in America, where we currently have no government! But, that’s a rant for another day and another blog post…

So.  Now the waiting game begins.  Fingers crossed that I hear something and add that little bit of special-ness (is that a word?) to my paper.

Leave a Reply

