Come Together, Right Now, Over Me

One of the reasons I chose to go to a school in a big city was because there’s always SOMETHING happening.  Whether it be a concert, some famous speaker, or just an event at a museum, I needed to have more than just a dorm to look forward to on the weekends.

Imagine my surprise when I found out that everyone’s favorite psycho radical church, Westboro Baptist, is coming to the part of the campus I live on next Friday.  If they were protesting on the main campus, it would make sense.  But my little side campus? Okay then…

I don’t know about you all, but I am a huge supporter of LGBTQA rights.  So, when I found out that Westboro was protesting after my last class for the day ended, I knew I wanted to go and counter-protest. I’m not one of the gung-ho, “my way is right so you better agree with it or else,” supporters, but I truly believe that everyone has a right to get married, regardless of who it’s to.  So less than 12 hours after I first heard of the protest, I bought a shirt that says “Straight but not Narrow” and joined a Facebook event for a peaceful counter-protest of students.

You know what the coolest part is, though? Just how many people are rallying behind the counter-protest.  At the moment, over 160 people have RSVPd to the event in less than 24 hours, and I’m guessing that the final turn-out is going to be much larger.  I’m sure people will have their own picket signs, and will show as much, if not more, enthusiasm than the Westboro people.  Words cannot explain how proud and happy I am to be going to a school where we can turn an undesirable event into one that shows our diversity and support.  If this is what can be done my freshman year, I can’t wait to see what difference I can make in the next 4 years 🙂

Leave a Reply

