The Little Things

Well, week one of college life is officially over!  I love all of my classes so far (yes. even Beginner’s Latin), and I have met so many people who are fun to be around!  I haven’t gotten lost (yet), and I’ve even managed to get out and exercise a couple times in addition to my gym class.  The only thing that has surprised me yet is the homework (or lack of it for me).  But I’m betting that, much to my dismay, the amount will skyrocket in the next couple of weeks.

Today I thought I’d share with you something I have learned over the past couple of weeks: Enjoy the little things.

I know this kinda seems obvious, but it’s still true.  Especially when you’re in a new setting, little things that remind you of home can make the day a little bit brighter.  For example, back home, whoopie pies are a common staple in most grocery stores (if you don’t know what these are, you must find some and try them!).  But, since I’ve gotten to college, I haven’t seen so much as a reference of them.   That is, until yesterday.  A couple of friends and I went to the free outdoor concert that my school hosts every year, and, after the show, we went to Whole Foods to get some dinner.  I was snooping around the cold food case looking for something sweet, and, lo and behold, there in it’s shining glory is a whoopie pie!  It didn’t taste as good as the ones back home, but it still made me happy that I can find a little touch of home whenever I need it.

Also, today a deer walked past my dorm room while I was working on flash cards for Latin.  As soon as the pictures get on my computer, I’ll upload them.  Again, it was just a little thing that made my day a little brighter 🙂

Leave a Reply

