New Beginnings

Wow.  Apologies for not updating in over 2 months.  Life happened.  But that is then.  This is NOW!

 

So a quick update: I’m now at college, getting ready to start another school year filled with learning, knowledge, and other college-ish things!

I think the part I love most about college is that you have the chance to become the person you want to be.  You don’t have your parents trying to raise you to their standards. Instead, you have the chance to make your own decisions.  You want to go party all Sunday night, even though you have an 8 o’clock class the next day? Nobody’s stopping you.

But the freedom’s a double-edged sword.  For the first time in some people’s lives, they’re actually held responsible for their actions.  They don’t have mom and dad around to sort out the mess created by their mistakes.  Gone are the days of letters written to teachers explaining that there was “a misunderstanding” on a project’s due date.  For me, this isn’t a huge adjustment from how life was during high school.  I was held accountable for my homework, projects, and everything else, but I knew my parents were always available to help me figure out how to fix mistakes.   Being in college over 2 hours away from home, it’s different.  I have to learn how to be an adult and solve my own problems.  It’s a learning experience.

But I think I’m ready, though.  I’ve prepared to the best of my abilities, and I know that I don’t know everything.  I will make mistakes, and I will learn from them.  I know where I want to be down the road, and I know that, with hard work, I will be able to fulfill my dreams.

The only thing standing in my way is myself.

 

 

Until next time ❤

Leave a Reply

